What kind of friend are you?

I have been very busy lately identifying and creating my Natural State of Being.

It has been a process of observing people around me and deciding how they mirror me, what I really appreciate about them and what I see in them that is within me, that I am now ready to let go of.

During this process, I came up with “I am a good friend.”  I feel as a rule I really am a good friend.  I can be counted on to do what I say I will do; I am always honest, I am loving and I make sure I tell my friends I love them and I have many very old friendships.

I would like to remember birthdays and anniversarys more, send cards or letters more often and make more personal contact.

I had a conversation yesterday with a new friend, who made a comment I myself have felt for some time.  I don’t remember the exact quote but it was something along the lines of “People just don’t want to have meaningful relationships anymore.”  I will say, there is a lot of truth to this.

As a Health and Wellness Coach, I have been providing a thought to my clients – “If you are looking for your ideal mate, or job or relationship, make the time to sit and create a list of all of the qualities you would want that ideal person or situation to have.  Once completed, begin the process of becoming that person yourself.”

I believe you cannot attract any person, situation or circumstance into your life unless you match it.  Not only have I read this a zillion places, but I have tested it out personally.

The point is, if I am wanting deeper relationships, I have to become that way first.  I have to make the investment in myself and in the relationships I already have, before I can draw towards me even richer ones.

So today, my heart is feeling so full of love as I take the next baby step to enriching a relationship, because I want to.  I want my very sick friend to know regardless of what is going on in the world, I love her unconditionally and I am choosing to show up for her when she needs it most.

I am about to deliver a pot of FRESH homemade chicken, vegetable rice soup and it feels so good.  I would like more time in my life that allows the freedom to do special things like this.

She doesn’t need to know anything about the conversation you and I have just had, but I know.  I know the desire on my heart, I know it is authentic and I love who I am becoming.

What kind of friend are you?

Joyfully Yours,

Viv

2 thoughts on “What kind of friend are you?

  1. Hi Viv!
    You raise such a good point about becoming what you want present in your life. We do have to be a good friend and make ourselves open to a deeper connection. The comment about friendships…imho, it’s not so much about people not wanting deeper friendships, but more about awareness. I think most of us want close, meaningful relationships, but with the busyness of everyday life we are not always aware of nurturing this need. For years I was too busy with family life, work…and never practiced friendship enough. In recent years I’m more aware of this desire and have tried to be a better friend by reaching out more. All relationships need effort to grow deeper roots. Looking forward to some time with a friend of mine who reached out this week with an invite to attend the Parada del Sol in Scottsdale this weekend…never been!

    I used to think my name was strange as a child because literally, the name Barbara means stranger. So glad years ago I stumbled across the meaning on a bookmark or card in a gift shop that read, “new found friend”. I like that much better:-)

    Joy to you!
    Barb

Leave a Reply

